# ECSA WORLD-NEWS

#### **ISSUE 51 NOVEMBER 2016**

Editor Enrique Banús Writing and Design Carla Rabell

#### ECSA World

Secretariat: c/o Ryckevelde vzw, beweging voorEuropees burgerschap Sint-Baafskerkstraat 7/0001 BE-82005 Sint-Andries, Brugge.

> Tel: +32(0)50352720 Fax: +32(0)50371101

www.ecsaworld.eu ecsaworld@gmail.com Dear Presidents, dear colleagues, dear friends,

Waiting in Brussels at the hotel hall for going to the conference, Jacqueline Lastenouse came in. I had the pleasure to introduce to her the Presidents from ECSA Lithuania and ECSA Georgia, Prof. Indre Isokaite and Prof. Gaga Gabrichidze. Also Prof. Ewa Latoszek was in the small group we were forming immediately for talking for some minutes. Jacqueline was commenting how excited she was to great European integration experts from countries not being existing when the university action of the Commission was launched.

Seconds later, when the other Presidents left, Jacqueline was remembering those beginnings, and that the university action was not well understood by some colleagues in the institutions. But it had two advocates, as she said: Emile Noël and Jacques Delors. Really not bad recommendations!

In the General Assembly Prof. Dr. Nico Groenendijk from ECSA Netherlands and University Twente was elected as President for 2017-2018. We will have occasion to introduce him in our last newsletter for this year, but we can now underline that -after a long time of "Mediterranean (or, at least, South-European) presidencies" (with Antonio Papisca, Manuel Porto and Enrique Banús) now it goes back to Central Europe and to one of the founding states of the European Communities. So, welcome to Nico Groenendijk!

Kind regards, Enrique Banús

### ECSA General Assembly 2016

Last 17 of October 2016, ECSA presidents and representatives from all around the world attended the ECSA Annual General Assembly, held this year at the Square Brussels Meeting Centre, in Brussels. Some news are that Prof. Nico Groenendijk, from ECSA Netherlands, was elected president of ECSA World so that he will succeed Prof. Enrique Banús in January. Moreover, two guests from Indonesia and Kosovo could be the founders of an ECSA in the respective country.

Firstly, a part from the agenda previously sent by Prof. Banús to the presidents of all ECSAs, a number of procedural issues were approved. The agenda included the greetings to the guests from Indonesia and Kosovo, the debate and decision about the next Presidency, the financial situation of ECSA, the vote for non-EU Associations, the voting rights for non-active associations and the ECSA history project, among other issues.

A few minutes were given to guests Prof. Muhadi Sugiono and Prof. Gazmend Qorraj from Indonesia and Kosovo respectively, two candidate's countries for the creation of a new ECSA. Prof. Sugiono is a Lecturer at the Faculty of Social and Political Sciences of Gadjah Mada University, in Yogyakarta. Quorraj is a professor from University of Pristina who participated in the 2013 ECSA workshop held in Baltimore (Maryland, USA). He presented the statutes to create ECSA in Kosovo. In this way, there are two possible additional partners for the ECSA World community that were presented that day in Brussels.

During the debate concerning the election of the new president, the current president of ECSA Prof. Enrique Banús indicated that he would not continue with the position. Since none candidacy had previously been submitted, it was approved that candidates could be presented to the Presidency at that time. The Assembly also approved that from this election on the president of ECSA World can remain as president of a national ECSA. The contrary was established in the rules approved by all the associations for the elections. As it not regulated in the statutes but in an internal decision, there was after a short debate clear that the Assembly has the right to change this norms.

Professor Nico Groenendijk, co-director of the Centre for European Studies at the University of Twente and president of ECSA the Netherlands, presented himself to the election and he was elected. He asked the actual members of the board to continue with this task. Also this was approved by the Assembly. Therefore, Martin Holland, Léonce Bekemans, Ewa Latoszek, and also Enrique Banús, will be members of the next board that will be active from January 1, 2017 on. Maria Cristina Silva and Marco Mascia, currently on the board, declined for personal and professional reasons.

As for the other items on the agenda, with regard to the voting right of non-members, they will be presented by the new board two options -in writing- to the presidents; one from Prof. Banús and the other from Prof. Müller-Graff. They will be voted on at the next general assembly.

At the other point there was a general agreement -although with differences of nuance and method- to encourage all associations to develop activities and report on them, and to monitor more effectively those associations whose activities have not been reported for a long time. The next board will study how to do it.

At the end, Russia Vice President Mark Entin presented the initiatives for the 25th anniversary of ECSA Russia in 2017, with activities in its different branches, and invited all to participate in them.

The day after after the election, the current president and his successor were having a long coffee to prepare the transition and agreed on how to do it.

## New ECSA president in Bulgaria

Last October 2016 Prof. Dimitar Hadjinikolov informed that he has been elected as president of the Bulgarian European Community Studies Association – BECSA. Hadjinikolov is, since 2010, professor at the



Faculty of International Economics and Politics at the University of National and World Economy in Sofia. Moreover, he is Deputy Chairman of the Union of Economists in Bulgaria, Chairman of the Managing Board of FAEL Foundation and member of the Union of Bulgarian Journalists. During his professional career he has published ten books, seven papers and more than twenty articles. He obtained his PhD in International Economic Relations at University MGIMO, in 1984. Prof. Dimitar Hadjinikolov succeeds prof. Dinko Dinkov, professor at the Faculty of International Economics and Politics at University of National and World Economy.

Prof. Dimitar Hadjinikolov

WWW.ECSAWORLD.EU

## The ECSA World Presidents

Here we present an outline of all professors who have been presidents of ECSA since its beginning in 1987. The previous version was published in issue 17 (January 2014). The different newsletters have been including interviews to Malcolm Anderson, Antonio Papisca and Marc Maresceau. Others will follow.

Malcolm Anderson	1987-1996	Professor Emeritus School of Social and Political Science at University of Edinburgh (Scotland)
Jean-Claude Gautron	1997-1998	Professor Emeritus at University Montesquieu-Bordeaux IV (France)
Rudolf Hrbek	1999-2000	Visiting professor at the Department of European Political and Administrative Studies of College of Europe (Bruges) and Professor Emeritus for Political Science at University of Tübingen
Marc Maresceau	2001-2002	Full-time Professor of EU Law and Institutions at Ghent University (Belgium)

Antonio Papisca	2003-2004	Professor emeritus of International Protection of Human Rights and international human rights organizations and peace in the Faculty of Political Sciences, University of Padua (Italy)
Manuel Porto	2005-2008	Professor of the Law School of the University of Coimbra (Portugal)
Enrique Banús	2009-2016	Professor at Faculty of Humanities and Director of the European Studies Institute at University of Piura in Lima (Perú)
Nicolaas Groenendijk	2017-2018	Co-director of the Centre for European Studies at the University of Twente and President of ECSA the Netherlands.